Monday, May 31, 2004

Sunday, May 30, 2004


Another "wallpaper material" - try it! It's really good you know. And yeah - I wont sue you for copyright infringement. Just mail me if you have this on your desktop for more thatn a day - I'll be happy to know :-)

A Harley on the POSTECH campus. I really like this pic. it's what I call "wallpaper material" :-)

That's the POSTECH library. It's amazing. A HUGE circular glass building with an empty space in the center which has glass/transparent elevators. I think I'll take more pics of the library sometime later.

That's Chang posing for my lens - this was my first shot in manual mode EVER.

That's me posing for Chang's lens :-)

Rendezvous with photography.

The title may suck... but my photographs dont. Check out some shots from my very first photography session. I became a member of the Photography Club in POSTECH and was taken around the campus by Chang - an Undergrad there.

I used his Pentamax camera (it's really cool...) in the fully manual mode with an ISO 400 black and white film.

Some of the shots were really pathetic because I was trying to get over with the reel - had to give him his cam back the same day :-) Some of the shots are really great for a first session - beginner's luck I might say.

Anyways.... really into photography nowadays - will blow a lot of moolah in this new found passion.

Saturday, May 15, 2004

New blog...

Started a new blog - http://nandzkorea.blogspot.com

It has all my rants while in Korea, for my summer internship at POSTECH University.

Check it out.

Saturday, May 08, 2004

Linux lacks...

It's been about a year since my computer conked off. So I've been working on other people's computers (which almost always are Windows PCs). Had a lot of graphic designing work to do - brochures, notices, visiting cards, letterheads for my counci. Working on my roomie's comp (who happens to be away to Italy) I got my hands on Photoshop and CorelDraw - and I must say they KICK ASS!!

I normally would have used GIMP or something.... man but I'm never gonna use it now. I mean the sheer magnitude of options that these software provide you with is mind blowing. The ease of use, the help facilities, the excellent UI... everything just rocks!

GIMP really really suffers from lack of consisten UI. I know it's not a professional piece of software and people are not actually paid to work on it - but atleast those who work can make an effort to keep the UI consistent. Each and every plugin/script-fu thingie has different UI. Sometimes the default fonts dont work... and the plugin crashes as soon as you click the OK button.

I seriously think that GIMP should consider moving from GTK to QT. The version of GTK it uses currently is inherently sucky... you build something on a sucky platform your product is bound to suck. QT on the other hand is one neat piece of work. It can even put Windows widgets to shame in the look-and-feel department. It's extremely coherent and plus it uses C++. Though that could be a negative as well - with the current state that g++ is in.

Another area which GIMP should really really concentrate on is - providing better text editing capabilities (GDynText is not at all adequate) and features to draw atlease some basic shapes like rectangles and circles (dont tell me to use the GFig plugin or something for that - it SUCKS).

But then again... GIMP will improve. It's an amazing piece of code. I feel the core (image processing code/algorithms) must be neat but it's the UI and useability which need a facelift.

Ciao
Nandz.

Saturday, May 01, 2004

End sems over.... YIPPIE!

Awright... now I'm free. Free to do "other" work. The grand finale was one in true sense. An open book exam with all the questions from the solved examples with just the values changed. But it was freaking lenghty. But then that's ok!

One reason to sulk though, lost some very important data, thanks to a freak hard disk crash. I was gonna burn it on a CD today itself - and the damn magnetic storage had to crash!

Anywayz gotta go do some packing.

Nandz.